



## THE NORMAL SPOKE

The weekly newsletter of the *only Normal Rotary Club* in the world Chartered June 17, 1949
RI No. 3282 District No. 6490



## Website Links:

Rotary International Normal Rotary Club District 6490

## March 15, 2023

Volume No. 74 Issue 34

Reporter: Art Drake Editor: Larissa McIlvain Photographers: Fred Hahn

President Ryan Fleming convened the March 15, 2023, meeting of the Normal Rotary Club at the ISU Alumni Center. David Taylor gave the invocation.

**Guests:** Ralph Bellas, guest of Drake Zimmerman.



**Guest Ralph Bellas** 



Mystery Host Matt Wyss and Bill Caisley

## **Announcements:**

- Safe Harbor still needs new or gently used bath towels.
- The District Foundation Dinner will be held April 2.
- April 29 will be the District Assembly for current and future officers at the Forum at Carle in Urbana.
- March 18-19, PETS will be held in Effingham. (That's training for club presidents-elect.)
- Our club scholarship banquet will be May 10.
- Art Drake brought some books and offered to give them to anyone who wants them.











Ralph Bellas

**Carson Varner** 

Bill Caisley

Mystery host: Matt Wyss presented the \$2 to Bill Caisley for his St. Patrick's Day attire.

**Lottery**: Our guest, Ralph Bellas, won the day's prize of \$21, but missed out on the \$275 grand prize.

**Judge:** David Taylor collected happy fines:

- Drake Zimmerman was happy that Ralph Bellas was on a RAM Global call with him this morning and that Ralph made it to Rotary today.
- Carson Varner was happily in anticipation of a visit from a niece from Germany. In her youth, the niece was out of touch with the Varners because she lived in Communist-held East Berlin.
- Bill Caisley was happy because spring comes one day early this year: March 20.
- Drake Zimmerman was happy with Ray Ropp's choice of shirt.
- Hank Campbell was happy about a recent safe trip to Charlotte.
- Dayna Brown-Nielsen was happy that the election is only three weeks away. She and her colleagues have been busy getting information out to the public. Dayna also is the proud owner of a new car, which insurance bought to replace the one that was totaled in an encounter with a deer. Also, Dayna is happy that her daughter emerged from the wreck just fine.
- David Hirst was happy about recent visitors to Hayes Woods and that in April, he will have help cleaning invasive species out of Hayes Woods.
- President Ryan was happy about the upcoming opening of the baseball and softball seasons at Leroy.
- Ed Tanton was happy about successes of the basketball team in his hometown of Metamora.







Hank Campbell



Dayna Brown-Nielsen



**David Hirst** 



Ryan Fleming



**Ed Tanton** 



Judge David Taylor



**Program:** Our speaker was John Fitzgerald, the Radio Voice of the Illinois State Redbirds. Since September, he has handled play-by-play radio duties for the Redbird football and men's basketball teams. His career in sports and broadcasting has taken many turns, most recently as Lewis University's associate athletic director for external relations – a position

that involved play-by-play work for a variety of sports.

His work with the Redbirds means he's staying in the same hotels and riding the same buses and planes that the players and coaches ride. It's a close relationship that has let him get to know the players, as well as football coach Brock Spack and men's basketball coach Ryan Pedon. These coaches are men of energy and high character, traits that filter into the entire team culture. He does not announce for women's teams, but he has become acquainted with coaches of those teams as well.

The Redbird athletic administration deserves credit for recruiting coaching staff with so much talent and character, John said.

**Thought for the Day:** "Cowards die many times before their actual deaths." -Julius Caesar







The Normal Spoke is a publication of the Normal Rotary Club of Illinois - P.O. Box 333, Normal, IL 61761 Club meetings are on Wednesdays at noon at the ISU Alumni Center, Normal, IL

Officers 2022-2023

President - Ryan Fleming ryan.fleming@commercebank.com 815-739-54984

President-Elect -Dayna Brown-Nielsen brownda@Unit5.org 309-862-3385

Vice President - Bruce Bergethon blberge@ilstu.edu 309-8275-7093

Secretary - Jack Moody jack-moody@comcast.net 309-310-4868

Treasurer – Matt Wyss <u>mwyss@hbtbank.com</u> 309-397-5919

Sergeant-At-Arms – Bill Semlak wdsemlak@ilstu.edu, 309-359-8172 Past President – Ann Haugo ahaugo@ilstu.edu 309-825-1534

**Directors 2022-2023**Community Concerns - David Taylor

dtaylor@uwaymc.org 309-828-7383

Rotary Foundation & International - Hank

Campbell

hlcampb@ilstu.edu 309-530-5134

Publicity - Larissa McIlvain Larissa.McIlvain@heartland.edu 309-338-7362

Club Administration - Dayna Brown-Nielsen <u>brownda@Unit5.org</u> 309-862-3385 Assistant Governor - Laura Pritts laurapritts93@gmail.com 309-824-0507

District Governor – Connie Walsh <a href="mailto:cdwalsh@illinois.edu">cdwalsh@illinois.edu</a> 217-493-0930

Rotary International President 2022-2023 Jill Jones a, member of the Rotary Club of Windsor-Roseland, Ontario, Canada



Members:			
Adanri, Bayo PHF* HH PP	Cranston, Robert PHF* PHS HH GWRY PP DHH	Hirst, David	Schultz, Dianne
Alexander, Kathy PHF* HH PP	Danenberger, John	Hunt, Robert PHF*	Seaba, Seth
Anvick, Greg PHF	Dennis, Marcia PHF* HH PP DNRY DHH GWRY	Johns-Cummings, Miranda	Semlak, Bill PHF* PHS HH
Bergethon, Bruce PHF* HH PP	Dietz, Larry PHF	Jontry, Gene PHF* HH	Sethi, Surinder PHF* PHS HH PP DHH DRY GWRY PDG MD
Bidner, Gordon PHF* PHS MD BS GWRY HH PP PDG DHH	Drake, Art PHF* HH PP	Jontry, Mark PHF	Smith, Kevin PHF
Bishop, John A. PHF* PP HH	Enchelmayer, Paul	Koos, Chris HM	Strassheim, Dale PHF* PP HH
Bishop, John E. PHF PP	Fleming, Ryan PHF	McClellan, Stephanie B. PHF	Tanton, Ed PHF* PP H
Brokaw, Nancy PHF*	Gentry, Connie PHF HH	McIlvain, Larissa PHF	Taylor, David
Brown-Nielsen, Dayna PHF	Goeckner, Becky PHF* HH PP GWRY	Mesdag, Elleke PHF*	Timmerman, Ron PHF* HH
Bubon, Angie (Fulton) PHF	Goss Kinzy, Terri HM	Moffett, Dan	Varner, Carson PHF*
Caisley, Bill PHF* HH PP	Gudeman, Gene PHF* HH	Moody, Jack	Varner, Iris PHF*
Campbell, Hank PHF HH DRY PP	Hahn, Fred PHF PP	Riehle, Matt	Weigelmann, Rod PHF HH
Chapman, Alan PHF* PHS MD HH GWRY DHH	Haugo, Ann PHF PP	Ropp, Ray PHF* HH PP DHH PDG	Wyss, Matt PHF
Copenhaver, Andy PHF PP	Healy, Linda PHF* HH PP DRY	Rosenlund, Jim PHF PP	Zimmerman, Drake PHF* PHS MD BS HH PP DHH
Cornille, Keith HM			
PHF – Paul Harris Fellow HH – Hall of Honor PHF* - Paul Harris Fellow/Stone PHS – Paul Harris Society	DHH - District Hall of Honor HM – Honorary Member MD – Major Donors PP – Past President	DNRY- District New Rotarian of the Year PDG – Past District Governor	BS – Bequest Society Member DRY-District Rotarian of the Year GWRY – George Wolf Rotarian of the Year